Media’s Impact on Our Lives

Media plays a large role in our lives nowadays; different types of media have different affects on how we live. In the past years, media has been very influential when it comes to culture. Culture is determined by values, and the social media affects values in positive and negative ways. For example, media says a lot about alcohol and tobacco and the use of drugs. Many, because of media, consider themselves cool because they use these substances, and it is your values that will either stop you or approve of you following those people. My values and my culture taught me not to be influenced by peer pressure and I know what is right for me; that is the path that I am choosing to follow.

Gender wise, social media and television can change the ways men and women view themselves and each other, but the main change is to how society believes we should act. The society which we live in teaches men to be macho and not to cry, while it teaches women to aspire to marriage. Television shows that women have to be skinny as they are objectified by the media; Kim Kardashian is an example of this. The media also tells men that in order to be attractive enough for women, it is necessary that they have muscles and often facial hair. Because we grow up in this society, and no one wants to feel left out, we try to follow these societal norm and conventions. This also affects the economy because we buy make up and different products and spend money on looking attractive. Also, many professions have to do with modelling, and young people grow up looking up to those people.

Social media affects me in different ways. I mostly use it to talk to my friends and to know more about soccer, but I run across from different things that I decide not to follow. Social media can affect the way I dress, the way I speak, and much more. I try not to be too influenced by the media and to follow my values but some things are inevitable, so I just live my life naturally by staying mysels in all situations.

5 comments

  1. emmapisd19 · January 29, 2016 at 10:57 am ·

    In my blog post, I also addressed how media is able to degrade women and objectify them. I overall agree with your overall message and found your blog post interesting to read.

  2. Paul · January 29, 2016 at 10:58 am ·

    Great post Tidiane!

    I like your examples to Television!

  3. yaneesisd19 · January 29, 2016 at 11:02 am ·

    I definitely agree with the majority of the ideas in your post. But, I feel that you did not support all of your statements with evidence.

    • tidianeisd19 · January 29, 2016 at 11:05 am ·

      Thank you, but i believe that my statements were self explanatory, if you did not notice that.

  4. louisisd · January 29, 2016 at 11:08 am ·

    Great ending. This was very well written with many good points.