Genius Hour Reflection

I decided to do my Genius Hour on who is the best manager in soccer, whether before or now. I chose three managers that could potentially be recognized as the best manager in soccer: Pep Guardiola, Jose Mourinho and Sir Alex Ferguson. I chose this subject because I really like soccer, and people tend to give more credit to the players than to the managers, who coach the teams to success. This question is based on how well the teams are preforming under these managers. I focused on the coach’s attitude and their tactics on the field that made their teams successful. What I mainly learned is that it is difficult to measure a coach’s ability with trophies, because different teams in different leagues are managed differently, but also because in soccer, anything can happen. The better team can lose a game at the last minute. This helped me grow as a person because I learned that success can be calculated in different ways and that it goes beyond what can be added up.

This time, instead of focusing on facts like my last Genius Hour project, I focused more on difference and how my project could have an effect on the audience as they can do their own critical thinking to see why my project is important. I am hoping hat my classmates left my presentation with a different view on soccer. I hope that they now are able to give more credit to the coaches when a team does well, but also to understand how the coaches affect their teams. This will give them further understanding on soccer. For my next genius hour, I hope to make my classmates more open minded in the positions that they choose to play and if they do not play soccer, then I hope to get them to start and to choose a good position that fits their interests and abilities.

Here is a link to my presentation.

0 comments